10 hour high and scared to death for my pregnancy

Hello all.

I’m a t1 diabetic on an insulin pump with a cgm as well. My husband and I went out on a date day today (a few hours away from home). It was wonderful!..except my site went bad. The insulin absorption was awful. I might as well have not even had an insulin pump. And being the big dummy I am, I also forgot to bring some manual injection supplies.

Anywho, my bgs ranged from 180-235 for TEN HOURS while we were driving home/nursing the high back down. I’m currently 11 weeks pregnant as well.

I feel so scared and worried for my little one. Usually my bgs are pretty well and my a1c is 6.4. I’m just afraid I made an awful error. I just need some support/love/similar stories with happy outcomes.

Thanks frands.

1 Like

I’m not a doctor or anything but I think you and your baby will be fine:)

Those numbers, 180-230 are higher than any of us like… But to keep it in perspective, they didn’t consider “tight control” to mean staying under 180 “most” of the time until quite recently in the grand scheme of things. A few hours at what we now consider moderately elevated levels aren’t likely to cause a problem, it’s the big picture that counts, the days, weeks and months.

I understand your concern though…

your A1c isn’t too bad, a 10hr high under 240, is neither here nor there in the scheme of things, it won’t be the last high you have, bloods are notoriously hard during pregnancy.
your Dr may advise to keep hitting with insulin till it goes down, with the hormones all over the place it may take what seems a huge amount to correct.

your basal may also have shifted

he may suggest to follow the basic Sick day rules

An unexpected high that lasts for hours can seem like an eternity, and of course when it’s happening it IS an eternity. But I agree with @Sam19 and @jack16, if you are paying attention it will all be okay.