A Little New Activism I am doing

I am not sure if this is the right place to post this but I am. I make my living traveling. I have to eat in restaurants. Quite often, I will run across people traveling themselves who, themselves are in the restaurant business. In the course of conversation, I tell them about a market they are not exploiting. can you guess who???..DIABETICS of course.

Some of these people are district people for restaurant chains or even restaurant managers who are eating somewhere other than their own restaurant, for a change of pace. I usually eat at the bar because there are people to have a conversation with. I explain to them that there are approximately 30 million diabetics in the USA and that figure is growing as we have an aging babyboomer population. There is going to be more. The sad part about that group is that because of the nature of many of the restaurants serving carbs, they cannot even walk in the door, thus depriving that restaurant a paying customer. I told them that if they had either a section on their menu specifically marked for diabetics or each dish marked as something like “diabetic friendly”, having few or no carbs or sugars and altering say sauces so as not to be made with sugar, etc, and would perhaps approach the Diabetes Foundation, and take an interest, they would gain as much as 10% new customers.