A Technician's Suggestions On Using Dexcom

I have a friend named Hayley. She is a Type 1 and is studying to be an endocrinologist. She is also a technician. The following suggestions were posted by her on another site. She gave me permission to copy and past them here.

"Unfortunately there is not a lot of science to many of the recommendations for calibrating or use. The recommendations provided by the Dexcom recommendations stem from the approaches taken in studies used to obtain FDA approval for the device.

I have quite a bit of experience with this as I worked as a technical support representative and taught other physicians about the system for 18 months following graduation.

Here are some things that I have learned from my own experience & can be really helpful - AGAIN, this information is based on my experience/opionions and do not necessarily reflect those of Dexcom (liability disclaimer):

1. The sensor is waterproof but many times the adhesive is the length-limiting factor. The STS shower covers can preserve the adhesive and sensors can last for 2-3 weeks if in a "sweet spot.“

2. The system is only FDA-approved for the abdomen and so Dexcom reps are not supposed to give you information about inserting it anywhere else. However, this does not mean that it is necessarily most effective when placed in the abdomen - again, it was the only site studied.

3. Qualities of an ideal site include: adequate amount of subcutaneous tissue (fat), no scar tissue (like fibrous surgical scars), and ideally on the same side of your body as the receiver