A1C Sensor vs Lab

I have been using Dexcom G5 for about 4 months. The sensor said my A1C was 6.7 when I had it tested at my doctor it was 5.9?
Is that about right?

Sounds good to me. I am not sure where you see Dexcom claiming you have a 6.7 A1C. Dexcom Clarity stopped estimating A1C several months ago, when they realized it was just a guideline and could be quite far from what was shown at hospital. What Dexcom now shows is a Glucose Management Indicator, which for some is quite near doctor A1C but for others not so much.

This is what my clarity shows for past 30 days and you will notice there is no mention of A1C and my A1C at the hospital for past several decades at same hospital has always shown me higher than conversion of my meter or CGM readings. A1C’s also vary somewhat between labs if you use more than 1 lab.

1 Like

Like I said, I am new to Dexcom and assumed the Dexcom Management Indicator was the same as A1C.

In a message dated 4/23/2019 4:06:32 PM Eastern Standard Time, tudiabetes@discoursemail.com writes:

CJ114
April 23

edoshea:
Is that about right?

Sounds good to me. I am not sure where you see Dexcom claiming you have a 6.7 A1C. Dexcom Clarity stopped estimating A1C several months ago, when they realized it was just a guideline and could be quite far from what was shown at hospital. What Dexcom now shows is a Glucose Management Indicator, which for some is quite near doctor A1C but for others not so much.

This is what my clarity shows for past 30 days and you will notice there is no mention of A1C and my A1C at the hospital for past several decades at same hospital has always shown me higher than conversion of my meter or CGM readings. A1C’s also vary somewhat between labs if you use more than 1 lab.

Clarity shows my A1c to be somewhat higher than the last lab test. I get tested in 2 days so we’ll so how closely that one matches Clarity.

Nice TIR @CJ114 :+1:t3:

1 Like

I had my A1c tested this morning -

Clarity 6.1
Lab 5.4