Advice for This Weekend: Food, Alcohol, etc

Hi! I am new to DM so I haven’t really been living my life since my diagnosis. I hope to change that this weekend. I need some alcohol/food/comfort advice.

Friday: Concert and drinks
I have been sticking with wine or diet coke and rum and guessing on how much I should snack so I don’t get low. I usually am a little high (150) because I don’t want to take too much insulin. The one time I did drink 2 glasses of wine with food I went to 50. What is your usual ratio?

Saturday: Hangout with friends in different parts of SF Bay… I guess just extra snacks since I will be away from home all day?

Sunday: SuperBowl!! I will probably go to a bar with friends. Any types of more DM appropriate snacks at a bar?

I guess my big question is what I’ve stated before: how do you bolus while drinking?

Do you ever get uncomfortable testing in a bar? Do you ever bring your own snacks?

Thanks!

I was a pretty heavy drinker at the time I was diagnosed. I completely quit for the first year and then, being tired of not fitting in with the rest of the world that drinks, I began having 1-3 drinks when out with friends for a couple of months. I found I completely lost all control of my blood sugar when alcohol was introduced. My blood sugar would drop 10 points with every low carb beer I would drink. My BS would skyrocket when I drank corona and also when I drank wine. I didn’t even attempt hard liquour. The whole deal was frustrating and it also made it hard for me to maintain any stability the whole next day. I would crash unexpectedly several times the next day. I just threw in the towel and embraced sobriety. It’s what works for me. I remember asking these questions too but never got anywhere. It is all so based on your body chemistry and what works for me would not work for you. Basically, no one can tell you a tried and true method.