Am I an expert?

I’ll be visiting my mom this weekend. She was just diagnosed with diabetes and this will be the first time I’ve visited with her since she came home from the hospital. I think my dad and brothers and sisters think I can be some kind of expert on diabetes for her. Well, I am, of course, an expert on my diabetes, having lived with it for 26 years, but not my mom’s. Any advice?
Actually, I probably wouldn’t have come to this site if not for her diagnosis. Hmmmm…

My buddie John was diagnosed with T2 and after using byetta for 6 months his doctor put him on NPH and regular. It’s not so much that he needed a expert, but the whole insulin, carb, carb ratio, and correction thing is very confusing to a newbie, I’ve been doing it for 31 years and it’s not so confusing to me. I would just try to be available for her. It’s scary at the beginning.

I suggest honesty. It is always the best policy. (Sorry for the cliche.) Anyway, like Joe said, be there for her and answer the questions that you can answer, but if you don’t know the answer, just be honest and tell her you don’t know. Maybe it is something that the 2 of you can find out together.

I’ve been diabetic since 1970 and I had an aunt who was diagnosed in the late 90’s. When we talked about it, we discussed “real life” situations. She had come back from the doc’s with really a lot of theory and "you’ll do fine"s. That seemed to be the kind of stuff she needed to hear then, but she was also “selective”, let’s say, on what she “heard” on a couple of things. A lot of this stuff, as you know, we just have to learn as we go along and knowing someone is there that can understand helps immensely

You know your mom. That probably makes you the best expert around…