Another Novolog -- Humalog Question

My PCP changed me from Novolog to Humalog yesterday. Wanted me to use a sliding scale. I refuse to do that. I have been bolusing for correx and for carbs for almost 7 or 8 years and I refuse to go back to an antiquated treatment regime.

This morning I did my fasting test at about 7:15. My BG was 401. Not sure why. My correx ratio is 1:20 and my fasting target is 100, so I took 15u of Humalog. At 8:22 I checked again and my BG was down to 277. At 10:20 I checked again and it was down to 53! What scared me was I didn’t have the usual signs of a low. Usually at 70 I start to shake. So what’s up with this??

I guess what I want to know is if lows are typical with Humalog.? What did I do wrong?

Here’s a snippet from a good synopsis of Humalog vs Novolog at http://www.diabetesnet.com/diabetes_treatments/insulin_humalog.php. If you’re pumping, that may be a big factor.

Differences Between Humalog Versus Novolog

A couple of major differences are being reported by users between Novolog and Humalog. Especially among pumpers who switch from Humalog to Novolog, reports have surfaced that Novolog appears to be both stronger and quicker than Humalog, and doses have to be cut in order to prevent hypoglycemia. Dose reductions are often in the 10% range, and it may be wise to reduce doses right away to prevent unwanted lows. If, instead, blood sugars rise, doses can always be raised again.

Novolog also starts working faster than Humalog. Although no direct comparison of Novolog and Humalog has been reported, one research study found that in normal individuals, Novolog reaches peak activity at 52 minutes, compared to 145 minutes (2 hours and 25 minutes) for Regular insulin. Humalog peaks at about 75 minutes (Eur J Clin Pharmacol 1999 May;55(3):199-203). Both pumpers and injectors may note lower post-meal readings due to the faster onset of action.