App for logging meals and insulin

Hey all, I’m a software developer who is also Type 1 and I built a free Android app that helps to log meals and the insulin used to cover the meal, with the goal of making more informed bolus decisions by looking at the insulin used during past meals. I wanted a simple way to track meals and insulin usage in isolation and I wasn’t happy with what was available that I could find— existing apps seemed to range from trying to do everything under the sun, to just providing a bare bones insulin:carb calculator, or worse charging a monthly fee for what I was looking for.

I tried to keep usage as simple as possible— you just take a picture of the food and/or enter a brief description, and then enter the bolus amount. After a given amount of time, the app will remind you to check your blood sugar again, and if you need more (or less) insulin, you’ll enter that amount. When your blood sugar is normal and your insulin is done working, you’ll be left with a log you can reference with the insulin amount and how long it took.

Passing along in case it’s of any use to you, or if you happen to have any thoughts or feedback. Thanks!

BolusBoss - Android Apps on Google Play

1 Like

This post has been approved by the TuDiabetes Administration.

I like Glucose Buddy although I only record glucose levels. Pretty cool though as long as I keep phone on me it logs exercise as well.