Battling the Veterans Administration

I was an active duty soldier when I was diagnosed with Type I in 1994. Seven months later I was given a disability discharge and filed a claim with the VA. In just 3 months they decided my claim and awarded me a 40% rating (20% for diabetes). Since then, I’ve developed several typical complications, including neuropathy (both peripheral and autonomic), cardiovascular disease (with a heart attack at age 43 in 2006), gastroparesis and other things. As a result, I reopened my claim, asking that these conditions be evaluated, in addition to a deterioration of diabetes from the way it was when I originally filed 15 years ago.

Next week will be the one year anniversary of my submission of my new claim, and still no decision. I’ve been told on three separate occasions that my claim had been decided and the only thing left was the final approval before I would receive their decision letter. It seems that each time it got “kicked back” and due to some situation that the VA’s veterans representatives would never disclose to me and was sent back to be rated all over again. Each time they said that it was rated and awaiting signature I was told that I’d receive their decision within two to three weeks. The first time was last November, then in March and again in June.

To say that I am annoyed is an understatement. It is one thing to get jerked around, but to not be able to find our what is really going on adds to the annoyance level. The question that I;ve been asking myself is what to do about it.

I could ask my Senators or Congressman to lean on the VA, but various discussion boards seem to indicate that this tends to tick off the VA, resulting in further delays caused by bureaucratic picque. That is not a solution that will help me.

I could also lean on them myself, but let’s face it, with nearly 1,000,000 claims pending, the chances that it would do anything worthwhile are microscopic.