Byetta Injection

Hi - I am new to using Byetta, 5mcg. My last A1C was 5.7 with no meds and my Endo put me on Byetta and Metformin. I wanted aggressive treatment.

I am 115 lbs (5'6"), T2 (Not LADA or 1.5 but genetic) and find it using the Byetta needles kinda painful. I usually inject around the belly area using the smallest needle which I think is 33 or 31 gauge. It hurts especially when I click the pen all the way. Is there a less painful way to inject? I inject at a 45 degree angle and have tried various parts of the belly and I can't seem to find an area to inject in the thigh or the arm (not to mention the underarm fatty part being rather awkward to inject).

This morning after several minutes of trying to inject myself and wasting three needles, I gave up! Is it suppose to hurt or are you suppose to feel a bit of pain? I don't want to be a crybaby. I don't find my Accu-check softclick painful at all though, I usually test 3-4 times a day and never feel much pain with that.

I find that “pinching an inch” on my side and injecting there eases some of the pain. Sometimes I hit a nerve or something and it hurts, but I’d say 8x out of 10 I feel no pain. I am curious about your Endo prescribing Byetta and Metformin with your great A1C that you say you achieve without any medications. I have been fluctuating between 6.1 and 6.5 with Byetta and Metformin and was 7.5 at diagnosis before meds.

I am fairly lean and find that I also need to pinch on my abdomen. I also found that while needles come in a variety of gauges that tell you how thick the needle is, they also come in different lengths. It turns out they make 5 and 6 mm length needle tips that are designed for no-pinch technique. I find that if I pinch with the shorter needles, I can reliably inject right into the proper body fat layer without feer that I hitting muscle. If you are bleeding or consistently bruising, then you are missing the bodyfat layer (subcutaneous).