Can you reverse diabetes?

I just came back from my doctor’s appointment and I’m frustrated. I have lost 75 pounds and continue to lose. My A1c is 5.7 and dropping and my readings are all within normal range. When I was diagnosed with diabetes by readings were very high, but I have never had readings that would be considered abnormal for even a non-diabetic since then. My goal is to use diet and exercise to stop medications. (I’m also on meds for blood pressure, but that averages about 118/70). At the doctor I asked about stopping meds at some point, and he said probably not. He said that I’m better off staying on them probably for life and he may want to add a statin even if I continue down this positive path. I am not a doctor, but I disagree. In my mind, if I were not on medication and all my tests and readings were at normal ranges for a non-diabetic person, would I not then have reversed diabetes? I am only 32 years old and want to get off all meds. He won’t take me off blood pressure meds either because he says that because I’m diabetic, the meds can help my kidneys. I just don’t get it. Any thoughts?

When I don’t take my BP medicine—and I have low blood pressure–my feet don’t feel quite as good. That med is for keeping the little blood lines clear, and there is good research on its extending lifespan for all diabetics. So, I’m keeping the little white pill, even if my low blood pressure doesn’t indicate it. My status as a diabetic does. Since there was a period of time when my blood sugar was high, some damage was done (even if it’s not obvious to me now). Preventing further damage is in my best interests. But frankly, if my feet didn’t feel better w/ it, I wouldn’t be convinced. And I have, technically, no feet problems yet.