Conflict with the nurse, help

Hi

I am new to the pump. I just recently got it for a month.
The nurse set a new carb ratio and basal rate for me, but it is really not enough and bg goes really high, around 13-17 everyday.

I adjust my carb ratio and told the nurse about the change. the bg was beautiful that week, average of 5.7. I emailed the nurse about the result later that week. However, my nurse warn me to let her make the change and let me to change the ratio back to the way to set it.

Have you had any conflict with the nurse? How did you deal with it

Thank you

At first I let mt Endo make the calls. They always err on the side of caution. About 4 to 5 months into it I was making my own adjustments and emailing them to him. I am in my 32nd month of pumping.

Most docs and nurses are comfortable letting T1’s tweak their own doses.

Heck, they taught me how to tweak doses when I was a kid diagnosed 30 years ago.

But other docs/nurses simply are not willing to give up micromanagement, and believe they have to be the one making any dosage changes. Personally I think that went out of style 30 or 40 years ago but obviously it still is living on today. Heck, there is a huge chunk out there that still think that “sliding scale” is the best thing since sliced bread. Don’t get me started on sliding scale!

Read your page where I coment back to you. I’ve never had that problem. I’m sorry you do.

It’s your disease and you should be the one making the changes since you actually live with your diabetes :slight_smile:
It is good to consult with your nurse and Endo and discuss any major changes you’re going to make, but things like changing your carb ratio or adjusting basal rates… these are minor things that you are capable of doing because you know the best what suits you based on your everyday readings and doses.