Confused about insulin pump

Hello
I am having type 1 diabities… diagnosed when I was 10 years old… I am fed up of having diabities… :frowning:
recently I am totally dependent on human mixtard 30:70 (insulin pen)
Will insulin pump with basal or lantus suite my budget???
Or I should live the way I am???

Diabetes can be a burnout, no doubt! But glad to hear you are interested in a pump. I have been pumping for about 12 years and I love it - I would never go back to shots unless I had to because it gives you freedom. Insulin pumps constantly infuse fast-acting insulin into you during the day. So usually that is Novolog or Humalog, no Lantus or other baseline insulin is used. For this reason, it is very important to check your BG frequently when using a pump, at least 4 times a day, but ideally 6-8 times a day, every day. Are you checking your BG multiple times a day now? If not, work on developing that habit, then you'll be ready to take on a pump. There is a big learning curve at first, but then once everything is set up I think you will like it.

I agree with everything angivan said. Using a pump will definitely improve your control and your lifestyle.

I don't know what your budget is and whether your country provides any support for medical goods. Pumps are very expensive if you have to pay for them yourself and you need regular supplies to use with them. Some pump companies do give you a discount based on income, but if you have no government or insurance support they are very expensive.

If you are unable to get a pump I have another suggestion: The mixed insulin you are on is a pretty outdated type. You would do much better switching to a mix of fast acting (apidra, humalog or novolog) and long acting (lantus or levemir) insulins.