Createnine rising 1.41 how concerned should I be?

Hi,

I’ve been type 2 for a long time, over ten years or so. I’ll be 70 soon.

I’m a vet, so yearly I go to the local VA hospital.(Just a side note, if you’re an American Viet Nam Vet and you’re type 2 you’re entitled to a pension. I didn’t know it for a long time, so I like to let other vets know.)

The VA nurse I see, who is great, mentioned concern about my rising createnine. The readings have been: Jan 2013 .68, Sep 2013 1.07, Nov 2014 1.2 , Jan 2017 1.18, July 2017 1.41

My internist has added glipizde 5 mg ½ twice a day to break down a1c. Will retest createnine in August, but I’m wondering how concerned I should be, or if there’s anything I should do in the meantime. I’m fortunate in that I have good health insurance. If the createnine is still rising, I’ve got the name of a recommended nephrologist in my area. Blood pressure has been fine. I’m on a bunch of medication.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Ideally you want to keep creatinine in the .8 to 1.2 range, and the 1.41 result is a bit high. Diabetes may well be causing this progression, but keep in mind that creatinine levels normally increase with age, and most people with age-related decline in renal function never have to go on dialysis. The best thing to do in the meantime while waiting for the next test is to keep well-hydrated by drinking plenty of fluids, keep the blood sugar as normal as you can without hypos, and monitor your blood pressure regularly. The better you can control the blood pressure the more you can slow the decline in renal function.

1 Like

Agent orange era ? I don’t know the answer to this,just a thought. Nancy