Deciding on which pump to use - HELP!

My son is 14 and we are having a lot of trouble with the dawn phenomenon. Being on Novolog & Lantus we don't have many options except (me/mom) getting up at 4 a.m, 5 a.m. and 6 a.m. to test and give insulin. Our endo. said that the only other option would be a pump to help solve this.

Now, my son wants to go with OmniPod, but I have read about TERRIBLE highs after new pump/pod insertion. Also, the pump just stops/turns off if there is an problem and stops delivering insulin. Do any of you have any problems like this with the Animas Pumps??

Also, pros and/or cons would be helpful too. THANKS!

Any pump is going to work wonderfully for your son as long as everyone is on board and has a good support/education team. I did 22 years on MDI before going on the pump and kicked myself for not doing it sooner. I’ve been pumping for 12 years with Medtronic, Cozmo, and now Animas. I can tell you honestly that they’re all going to work, at their core, the same. You’ll hear pump horror stories about all manufacturers, they’re likely a small percentage of users, please don’t let them drive your decision. As a mother, I might suggest letting your son make the final decision so he feels like he has control. Regardless, best of luck and try not to worry - it will be such a wonderful advancement in his care no matter what.

No, to be frank, I have not heard good things about the Omnipod. The pods seem to have a lot of problems. Not that all pumps don't have issues, but if you do some research and reviews I'm sure you'll see a lot more negative ones on Omnipod than the regular tubed pumps. Many people get Omnipod solely to avoid tubing. But oddly enough people worry about tubing ahead of time and then once they start pumping they don't find it annoying at all. Also, if your son wants a less obvious pump, the pods are BIG!