Dental questions

I went to dentist this last week and was told to start flossing and was shown how to. And was told a mouth guard is a MUST, for my grinding.As it is really bad.And getting a tooth straightened if I would like is an option I never knew I had. I then met some friends today who said it is all BAD!! It would cause me to many infections and said to not even think of doing or getting any of it done. Is this all true? Is flossing bad? And if I got mouth guard it would cause me pain and more infections? And getting my teeth straightened will give me infections? I don’t understand, I thought we were to take care of them and theses should help…very confused.

I am not experienced in these procedures/mouth equipment. I do not know how they would straighten one tooth but If you’re talking about braces, they will show you how to keep them clean, allthough it may be a pain.

As far as a mouth guard, I do not see how that would cause infections since it is just in your mouth for what…7 hours? If you clean them daily and use a mouth wash to rince your mouth, you should be Fine. Keep your blood sugars in a good bs range. If you have Thrush, that is another matter.

Do Floss and brush daily! This is important! Especially for a Diabetic. I was too busy (and lazy) to floss before and I started having problems with my teeth and gums. About 11 yrs. ago, I started taking my Dentist’s advice to floss along with my daily brushing. I got used to it. My appointment 2 weeks ago again came back with Good results. No cavities, bleeding, inflammation(Gingivitis). :slight_smile: Keeping your sugars in the Good range at least most of the time, is Very important regarding teeth and gums issues, of course. Other things may happen in your mouth but at least you will know that you did your part in keeping it healthy.