Diabetes at Work

So a colleague just called me with a quick question. I was on the verge of testing because I could feel that I had overdone my breakfast bolus by a bit. The meter showed 3.1 but I thought the conversation would be brief so I stuck it out. After 5 minutes I started thinking that my brain wasn’t 100% and I knew that if it went too long, I would lose my ability to converse coherently. Luckily I was able to get through the conversation and hang up. I smashed an apple and threw in a light granola bar (15g carb) for good luck. I know I should just politely say that I will have to call the person back but in those situations my brain never lets me do it.

Any advice?

did you say goodbye or just hang up? if you said goodbye then ur fine (but then again I’m an american and our manners aren’t nearly as polished as yours up in the great white north) :wink:

I am a librarian and have had a low blood sugar at the reference desk while trying to answer questions, and at the beginning of classes I’ve taught. I simply say, “sorry, I’m a diabetic and my brain isn’t working right now. I need to eat something.” I started munching on an apple WHILE teaching class. The students didn’t mind.

If I were you, I’d have a stash of juice boxes in your office. That way, you can inconspicuously and quickly drink one at the first sign of low bg, whether or not you’re on the phone!

Course, you might find this crass. Not only am I a rude American, I’m a rude® New Yorker (from California, but still).

When I worked in the public and I would feel a low coming I would just excuse myself. If I was on the phone I would say “I apologize but something has come up and I need to call you back…Is this your call back number?” Then I hang up without giving anymore information. If in person I just excuse myself and either get someone else to help or I explain I am a diabetic and needed some sugar…