Diabetes psychology 101

As a fellow human being (and not a psych incidentally) we are aware that our biggest emotional goal is to pursue what we perceive is pleasure, and avoid pain as often as possible. This is the key to managing your diabetes because it is the place where you have the ability to set healthy boundaries, which of course is the foundation for healthy relationships on ALL levels with ourselves, and others.

The two extremes of course are “Do I do whatever I want and enjoy the short term gaines at the cost of some complications?” OR “Do I have a very high degree of maintainence that could in fact be dangerous on some levels?” Obviously the middle ground is where we need to be.

After thirty five years as a type1 the majority I have met run sugars that are quite often higher than they would like, but do it anyway. I NEVER judge them because as we know this is the easiest thing to do in the world. Finding those who are high maintainence is somewhat rare, and even more so for those who have thier control a little tighter than they should however, they do exist.

The obvious answer medically is progress without perfection, that suits you and your lifestyle. The psychological answer is how much do you love who you are, knowing all about you that you know, and can you increase that by just a little more each day? Followed by the lifestyle that you choose, and your ability to acknowledge the way you control your blood sugar levels both publically and privately. This includes those who may not have the money to afford the necessary tools. Now here is the good news.

The way you think is very much in your control and from all that I have read here, this is a great resource for the basis of a healthy mindset which is honesty. Tell us how you feel and understand that the “Superdiabetic” does not exist and there is no need to try and be one.