Diabetic Cures

Diabetic Cures

I love the nonsense I often read about how to cure diabetes. I have been type 1 for 39 years and if you add on the experience of living with my mother, who was type 1, for 14 years before that, I have been exposed to hearing about diabetic cures for over 50 years. There have been so many that it is difficult to remember each of the various schemes.

A buddy of mine, a type 2, decided to start drinking a magic potion of juice from Polynesia. This juice he decided after reading several web sites would “cure” his diabetes. The second day he used this “magic juice” he stopped using insulin. That was an unfortunate decision but he had to stop using insulin. He was a school bus driver, and in Indiana school bus drivers have to stop if they use insulin. Using insulin, whether or not you are well controlled, is an absolute criteria for immediate dismissal from driving. In fact my buddy had been dismissed from a long term long time bus driving position because he had not disclosed his use of insulin. I knew that because I dismissed him.

The thing is bus drivers are difficult to find and this man was a good one. Had he told us of his use of insulin I would have taken off the bus and given him a medical leave until he got himself in shape and provided a doctors statement he no longer needed to take insulin. I suppose he felt at that time that he could not do that. So he risked his job, the one we loved him doing, in order to keep driving. I call him my buddy because he was, the guy meant a lot to me and even when I dismissed him he apologized and left with a hug. He was a good man.