Dr

I have a question for you all out there. I live in Lincoln, NE we have only 2 Endo’s in the city, one doesn’t take anymore diabetics and from what I have heard isn’t that great. The other I used to treat with and now he has way way to many patients. I would sit in the waiting room for 2.5 hours before even getting back to a tx room to see him. A total visit with him would be like 5 minutes. I am currently treating with a GP who works with a lot of diabetics, but I am starting with the Minimed CGM system and would like some one with more knowledge. Does anyone out there tx with and internist? Or do you all tx with Endos?

I am feeling stupid too…I am going to ask her what it means…

So sorry, I am a nursing student and we abbreviate every and I mean EVERYTHING. tx means treat or treatment. Sorry.

Pretty sure it means treatment or treated…

I think if you can get a good Endo then that is your best bet obviously. But in your case it sounds like your choices are very limited. Personally I have actually had better luck with Internists and am actually going to one now. I think if you can find a good Internist you will be fine. Just make sure they understand and work with other diabetics on insulin pumps. I had an Internist that I really liked but once I started on an insulin pump she told me she would prefer I see an Endo for my diabetes care because she didn’t feel comfortable enough with her knowledge of insulin pumps. I appreciated her honesty and still went to her for everything else and went to the Endo as needed. What about going to a CDE to help get you started on it? You could go to this site and put in your city and state and pull up D. educators.
http://www.diabeteseducator.org/DiabetesEducation/Find.html
Good luck!!