Dry eyes-any relation to D?

Over the last few years I have developed a nearly debilitating level of dry eyes. I use over the counter extra moisturizing gel but it doesn't cut it. I will actually be unable to see after a long day of work in front of a computer or lots of reading a book.

I brought this up to the last two eye drs. I have seen. One just said it was age the other said it was Lasik that I years ago. Endo said it was age. I don't know anyone else who has this much problems with it even when they are much older than me. Since I'm an accountant by day and student by night this is a huge problem.

As of 18 months ago I did not have any sign of deterioration in my eyes.

I'm just curious if it could be related to D. I never imagined my shoulder issues had anything to do with anything except old damage then found out about a year ago that frozen shoulder seems to be related D.

I definitely found that my eyes were dry with the Metformin. My endo denied that my mouth and eyes were dry from the Met, but I had that problem on even the lowest dose. Now that I stopped, it pretty much went away.

Argh, yet another reason not to be taking met. My tummy is queasy again this morning. Not sure if it really has anything to do with the higher met dose and if it will go away in a few days. I seem to be less tolerant of the met than in the past. I don't remember having any problem until I went to 1500 and that only lasted a few days. When I went to 2000 I got pretty sick but only for about a week. Then the yuck crept up on me a few months later and never went away until I was down at 500 and 1000.

Hey Whirlygig!
I have that as well...it led to a Corneal Dystrophy. Have done ointment, gels and drops, but the tear on the corneas is not healing....so the ophthalmologist plugged the tear duct. First in one eye only....to detect if there is any improvement. The rationale of plugging the tear duct, is to keep the tears IN the eye. We shall see.