Friendship

One day, when I was a freshman in high school, I saw a new kid, from my class, Kyle, walking home from school. He could barely manage with all the books he was carrying.

I thought to myself, “Why would anyone bring home all his books on a Friday? He must really be a nerd.”

As I was continued walking, I saw a bunch of kids running toward him. They ran right into him, knocking him down, his books and his glasses went flying. They ran off, just as fast as they could.

I felt so bad for him. He was crawling around in the grass trying to find his glasses. I could see right where he glasses were and ran over to get them. When he looked up as I handed his glasses to him, I saw a deep sadness in his eyes.

I told him that “Those guys are jerks, they really should get lives.” He thanked me with a big smile. It was one of those smiles that showed real gratitude.

I helped him pick up his books, and asked him where he lived. As it turned out, he lived near me, so I asked him why I had never seen him before. He said until this year, he had gone to a private school.

We talked all the way home, and I carried some of his books. He turned out to be a pretty cool kid. My friends and I had a party and a football game planned for that weekend, so I invited him. We ended up hanging out all weekend and the more I got to know Kyle, the more I liked him, and my friends felt the same way about him.

Monday morning came, and there was Kyle with the huge stack of books again. I stopped him and said, "Boy, you are gonna really build some serious muscles with this pile of books everyday! "

He just laughed and handed me half the books.

Over the next four years, Kyle and I became best friends. I still teased him all the time about being a nerd…he was brilliant.