Funny or scary low blood sugar stories needed!

My name is William “Lee” Dubois. I’m a health journalist, Type-1, and diabetes author on assignment for Better Homes and Garden’s Diabetic Living. We’re doing a piece on low blood sugar risks for persons with type 2 diabetes.

I’m looking for a couple of real-world anecdotes (either funny or scary) from type-2s who’ve experienced hypos. I was wondering if anyone had one to share?

Went with friends recently to the cider mill. While they pigged out on fresh donuts and cider, I enjoyed a half donut and some milk. While I was proud that the half-donut was my first since my diagnosis a year earlier, I also felt a little wistful that I couldn’t also have cider. I am resolved to limit simple carbs and I knew the donut was enough for that day
But a few days later I was experiencing a low blood sugar at home. Rather than go for the yucky glucose tabs, I starting routing around my kitchen for something sugary, tasty, and forbidden. Aha, the cider was in the fridge! I poured a 6 oz. glass, at last I tasted the season, and brought up my BGL as well.

I’m type 2, and I was taking Lantus, which isn’t supposed to cause lows. I was sitting at my computer when all of a sudden I started to feel a bit low. I stood up, and then I realized I was shaking and wanted to sit down, but I managed to walk from my barn office into the house to test. The meter said 25, and I figured it was a bad strip, so I tested again and got a 30.