G6, my phone and Xdrip

I applied a new sensor this evening. After the 2 hour wait, the Xdrip was blaring that my sugar was 34. (It was actually 116). I did a recalibration and it went sideways. First Xdrip was telling me that I had a calibration error, code 4. I tried to calibrate it again. I was told I had a calibration error, code 4. About 1 minute later, Xdrip screen changed to Signal Missed (top left corner) and a confused calibration code 2 across the bottom.

I tried to fix it, without success. I uninstalled the app and reinstalled it. I put all the Dexcom info in again. I am still getting the Signal Missed message. I need help. I have an LG V60 thin. I am not tech savvy and have no idea what to do.

I have been told by some knowledgeable people online not to calibrate the G6 more than 40 points at a time in order to prevent getting into calibration loops or a situation where the sensor will fail. I would have done several smaller calibrations about 15 minutes apart until my sensor reading was closer to my meter rather than one huge calibration. Unfortunately the situation you ran into is very common for me on the first day of a sensor. After that I find it very accurate.

4 Likes

Thanks for that info. I didn’t know about that calibration issue. I called Dexcom and they are sending out a new sensor. Unfortunately, this is the second sensor in 5 weeks with issues and I am going to run out of sensors before I get home to the new ones.

I find that if the sensor didn’t go in all the way or is slightly bent I have similar issues as you have.
Sometimes the inserter sticks and will not retract.
When that happens I assume I’ll have a bad sensor.
Usually they fail. But all in all 90 percent of my sensors work right

2 Likes

Laddie’s got it right. You have to calibrate the G6 very gently, or it will just refuse it I don’t think anyone’s figured out the exact rule though. I use 40 mg/dl OR 40%, whichever is smaller, as the max amount I can change it at a time.