Gary Taubes - The Qualities of Calories: lessons from the front line, Zurich & LCHF in practice

From Low Carb Denver 2019

Gary Taubes addresses Why the Qualities of Calories: matter, LCHF in practice

I didn’t know this was out yet, good to see. Gary Taubes has a wry sense of humor. Plus he’s wicked smart.

There was a lot of great content at the Low Carb Denver 2019. If you like this video, there are likely plenty more where that came from.

@Terry4 - were you at Low Carb Denver 2019?

Video was published this morning

Yes, this is my third time listening to this presentation. I’m still learning. Taubes is a great teacher. He studied at Harvard, Stanford and Columbia for respective degrees in applied physics, engineering, and journalism.

@Terry4 - All of the above plus he’s got a great sense of humour :grinning:

Thinking more about what Gary talked about in his presentation. He totally goes after the myth that weight loss is all about calories consumed versus calories burned. He asserts that this theory essentially fat-shames obese people.

He says that there are different phenotypes in the world. He compares his brother’s weight over the years when Gary put on 30 pounds over his brother and his brother ate anything he felt like.

I think anyone who has tried and failed at a diet would appreciate this refreshing point of view.

I have also always marveled how the body tends to learn to cruise along at a certain rate of calories. We often hear that we need to eat for example 1500 calories a day. When I was younger and without diabetes I could easily consume 1600+ calories a day and never go over 120 lbs. Now in my later years I can’t imagine eating more than 800 calories a day and maintain 125-137lbs depending on time of the year. Something in the body appears to regulate this huge difference.

@Terry4 & @CJ114