Going low a lot

In the past 2 weeks, I noticed that I have been going low 1-2 times a day, and at least once during the night. I usually wake up 4-5 times a night, but I only test once during the night, because when I eat something, I figure I cant be going low a second time during the night.

I take 14 units of Novolin in the morning, and no Novo Rapid for breakfast, but I find I am still going low everyday right before lunch (about 2:00pm). I take Novo Rapid for lunch, but I feel like I shoudn’t have to, if I’m going low right at lunch time when I eat.

My endo is away on vacation for the next week, so I’m not sure what I should be doing. I’m very new to diabetes, and I’m not sure if this is just a phase and I should just leave everything. I’ve found this very stressful on my body, and I find that when I’m stressed, it makes my numbers even lower.

This morning, I ate breakfast at 9:00am and took my Novolin at 9:00am as well. I was at university, and at about 10:30am I went to a 4.2! This insulin shouldn’t have kicked in yet! It was only an hour and a half! I’m very confused, because that was the only insulin I took, and there is no way my nightime insulin could have still been in me! Has anyone else had these problems or anything similar to them? Anything advice helps!

Is Novolin like Regular or NPH? Those are older insulins, and, unfortunately they are very erratic and you need to eat all the time to keep from going low. I would just do the best you can until your endo comes back and then ask to be put on a more modern regimen such as Lantus or Levemir for your basal and Novolog, Humolog or Apidra for your bolus.

I am guessing that the Novolin is a slow acting insulin, and 14 units are quite a lot.

If you are going low, then you should not take the rapid until it has come back to a more acceptable level – preferably a couple of hours after your meal. It may have been the heat that also makes it go down quicker.