Good News! Still Struggling, But We're Getting There

Hello all!

For those of you who have been helping me get along on this T1D journey (11 years and counting!) I just wanted to share some quick good news. I got my labs back and my cholesterol has dropped from 200 to 137 (LDL) in 6 months with NO meds. Thank goodness! I've been fighting my docs about going on Lipitor for 5 years and I FINALLY brought it down on my own! We're still working on it, but we're getting there. I'd like to see it around 100 (though I know diabetics should be closer to 70) High cholesterol runs in my family and I don't want to have unrealistic expectations.

My sodium level is great, 137

my kidneys are perfect (MicroAlbumin Less Than 0.6 / Urine Creatinine 137.0 / Protein 6.8

Triglycerides are 39 (which is good I think?),

HDL 42

I had a question tho, my Bilirubin is marked as Less Than 0.1. It's marked as "Low". What does this reading indicate?

Anyway- I'm still working on things, but it's good to see that my body is functioning properly again. Now just to focus on that A1c! Been plateauing at 8.5 % But my past 30 days average has been about 150, so hopefully my A1c is coming down now that I have more tools to judge it by. (Thank you Dexcom!)

Thank you guys. I really couldn't have done this without you all. You guys are wonderful friends and great motivators.

good news.

according to wiki:
Bilirubin (formerly referred to as hematoidin) is the yellow breakdown product of normal heme catabolism. Heme is found in hemoglobin, a principal component of red blood cells. Bilirubin is excreted in bile, and its levels are elevated in certain diseases. It is responsible for the yellow color of bruises and the yellow discoloration in jaundice.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bilirubin#Blood_levels

and webmd:
http://www.webmd.com/digestive-disorders/bilirubin-15434
they don’t talk about low levels at all