Got sensor wires?

i am a bit of an amateur silversmith.
about 2 years ago, I started saving my wired after a sensor had expired. I also saved the litle silicone squares inside the used sensor. I have melted several platinum-silver wires onto sheets of tarnish-free silver and have come up with some cool and very abstract pieces, which I then made into pendants. I attached the silicone pieces to each other to make bracelets (although those tend to fall apart - oh well...)
I would recommend you take a container that your test strips come in and start saving these wires. you can take them to a jeweler to separate the platinum from the silver - it's all better than tossing it away, given the cost of precious metals these days. I also would be interested in helping you make a unique piece of jewelry - made from the items that keep you alive and healthy. Let me know what you think! J*

3693-dexcomjewelry1.jpg (215 KB) 3694-DIABETESPENDANT110811.JPG (151 KB)

Neat! How many test strips does it take to salvage enough metal for one of those? By "sensor", do you mean the CGM wires? I had one that split once, while I was inserting it, of course it didn't go in w/ the little wire split off, and wondered what it was made out of. I have several jars of sensor needles saved up but would be intrigued to check one out. Thanks for the suggestion!

Oh that is really cool. I will have to start saving.

Yes - the wires. I have made pieces with 6 or more wires. I never dealt with the needles themselves, but the wires are worth saving. You never know how they wil heat up. the "D" on the necklace for my profile photo was supposed to be a "D" formed with the wires atop a square of silver. but the platinum took so much to heat it onto the silver that the silver totally freaked out and melted up under the D - that is what I find even cooler about the process - never know what you'll get! J*

Only 6 wires? I was thinking like hundreds of strips?