Greetings!

Not exactly sure yet how this thing works but here goes.

I am PaulaO and live in Leicester NC USA with my partner, 4 dogs, and 2 cats. I am a writer. I have a lot of health issues and am disabled. I have Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type. Because of that, I have osteoarthritis and chronic pain. Other stuff are sleep apnea, hypertension, hypothyroid, depression, asthma, and now pre-diabetes. Joy joy.

Diabetes runs in my family. Maternal grandmother, mother, and both siblings have/had diabetes. We’ve been watching my blood sugar for a while now and have been diagnosed as hypoglycemic. A year or so ago, one doc said I was “glucose intolerant” and now I know that meant pre-diabetes. But the A1C test wasn’t bad so she never mentioned it again. Most of the time, I don’t have any symptoms. But other times, I get so hungry, I can’t eat enough. I can eat a good meal and 2-3hrs later, be sweating, shaking, and not able to think straight. I eat peanut butter on a slice of bread and feel better for another 2hrs then I crash again. Then I have days where I am not hungry at all. I can go nearly all day before I remember to eat. Weird, ain’t I? :wink:

Then I went to the doc for a regular follow up and we did blood work. The fasting glucose came back as 135 and the doc freaked. They had enough blood to do the A1C but it would be a while before it came back. The doc was so sure I was diabetic, she gave me a prescription for somethingforim (?). But the test came back with 4.7. Other blood work came back wonky (triglycerides very high, good cholesterol low, bad cholesterol fine).