Had it with Omnipod

I’ve been using the Omnipod system now for 8 months. Recently, I’ve had a string of bad pods by which I cannot load the pod with insulin.
I’ve noticed that the pods have an “assembled in China” label on the packaging.
Is this outsourcing of production new or has it been going on all this time?
I’ve had 4 bad pods in the past 2 weeks from the same box. Each time I call Omnipod’s customer service, they oblige me with a new pod in 7-10 days. My latest fiasco occurred today while I was out of town when another pod malfunctioned on loading.
The customer support staff is pretty useless on weekends: I asked if they could contact the regional rep to see if they had a spare one to use until I got back home: their response was that the closest regional rep was in Maryland (I’m in Philly).
If there is a problem with production of pods, they need to be a bit more proactive about it and more sympathetic to their customers, especially to those like myself whose insurance plans do not cover the Omnipod system and pay out of pocket for it. Omnipod reps, if you’re reading this, how about replacing the box of pods with a new box, rather than have a customer call back when each one fails?
For al its seemingly positive attributes, the negatives far outweigh them: poor quality control and mediocre customer support.
As a physician and a Type I diabetic, I am surprised that the FDA hasn’t been alerted to this as it’s essentially a medical device malfunction.
Sorry, I don’t like the tubing either, but with this kind of aggravation I’m heading back to a conventional pump. At least when I was a Minimed user, they took a more concerned approach with their client when a pump malfunction occurred.

Rob,