Help for Adrenaline Rush

I’d like to know how other Type 1s handle an adrenaline rush. Here’s what I mean…

I’m a church singer and musician. I play three services in a row on Sunday mornings. Singing in front of a couple hundred people can be quite an adrenaline rush. I enjoy doing it very much and look forward to every Sunday. The thing I don’t look forward to is what the adrenaline rush does to my blood sugar.

Today, for example, I walked into church with a beautiful 105 blood sugar. After the second service my blood sugar was 358. I check it between every service and take several units based on what my reading is but it’s like the insulin doesn’t do anything. I have tried eating a small snack between services so I have something in my stomach, and I have tried not eating at all. Either way, it’s disastrous. In contrast to this, during the week I work a desk job. I’m calm, it’s pretty relaxed. I can enjoy nice, low blood sugar at my regular day job where there is no adrenaline rush involved.

Again, I really enjoy singing in church and would like to not be forced to give it up. It’s the skyrocketing blood sugar that I don’t like. I spend the rest of the day on Sundays trying to get back into control.

Since this is planned activity every week, I’m open to suggestions as to how to head this off every Sunday. I can’t stop the adrenaline. It just happens. And I’m afraid of taking too much insulin and then bottoming out in front of a whole bunch of people. I guess some would also call this a liver dump for the fight or flight reaction. Again, open to suggestions as to how to deal with this challenging situation. Lately, I feel like it’s gotten worse.

You gotta hit that with some insulin right before the service. It might take some time to experiment and get the right amount and the timing correct.