Hi all.. newbie here

Well, not newly diagnosed. Just a newbie to the forum/site.

I guess I’ll introduce myself… I’m Connie. 40. Diagnosed over ten years ago with type II. Docs tried me on about everything they had in the form of pills. Didn’t work. They told me I wasn’t following the plan… I was. Made me feel about three millimeters tall… so I hopped on the compliance roller coaster. Sometimes I was compliant, sometimes I wasn’t… most of the time I fell somewhere in between. Doing absolutely what I had to do to keep from killing myself.

Recently, my hubby was diagnosed type II. Since he has too much on his health plate to deal with anyway, I decided I needed to stop monkeying around with this and get serious. I was referred out to an endo because my A1C was 9.4. She asked if I was type I or type II. I told her I’d been told both and had been on insulin for over six years. Mainly just lantus and when I’m being ‘good’ using an extremely disciplined form of diet and exercise to keep my sugars, uh, well, not down, but I suppose better than six hundred? She ran the GAD 65 and c-peps on me. Long story short, I think she’s heading toward putting me on the pump. I needed to see those numbers so that I could resolve this whole thing in my head.

All these years, I’ve been operating on the assumption that I still had some insulin production left, and maybe I did. When I was being very disciplined and ‘compliant’, I was working out two and a half hours a day and eating mainly salads and fruits with lean meats. I was able to maintain a 6.9-7.2 A1C on sixty units of lantus a day and with that sort of regimen.

Needless to say, I got burned out and quit.

So here I am. I’m ready to turn the page, grab this thing by the… uh… you get it… and move on.

Thanks for allowing me to join. Thanks for allowing me to tell my story.

So glad that you found us Connie!

And that you are finally getting treatment that matches your condition!