How am I GAINING weight?

I've been watching what I eat, using Myfitnesspal app, and going to the gym (although am limited to what I can do because I recently hurt my ankle.) So how am I GAINING weight???

I am eating approx 1600 calories a day. It seems as though since I was put on insulin I just keep gaining, it's beyond frustrating, especially because I am already significantly overweight.

Thoughts???

I am no expert at this by any means… but are you sure it isn’t muscle mass that you are gaining since you have been working out? Are you lifting weights?

I have heard of lots of people who like Myfitnesspal, but I personally like Sparkpeople.com. Have you ever looked into that?

Has your insulin in take changed since you have started going to the gym?

How long have you been talking insulin? Insulin is very good at converting carbs into fat. That being said it is possible to lose weight while taking insulin.

Insulin resistance is the main culprit here and it is bad in type 2. There are ways to combat IR and it sounds like you are starting to do those things. Exercise is an excellent way to reduce IR and like Nicole says you will build muscle mass that helps even more.

Don't be discouraged you seem to be on the right track. As your IR decreases your insulin need will decrease and the weight gain issue will likely cure itself.

Jesikabeth, I almost just posted the EXACT same post. I'm T2 and started insulin & victoza 6 weeks ago, and at the same time completely revamped my diet. I'm tracking every ounce of everything on Myfitnesspal and staying between 1400-1700 every day (and I'm both tall & large so that should do it for me). I'm keeping carbs at about 100g/day which is pretty low IMO, although not Bernstein low. On average I do about 28% carbs, 37% protein, 35% fats. All my fats are good fats and my carbs are low GI. I've started exercising the last few weeks but haven't started strength training yet so the "muscle weighs more" thing doesn't apply.