How Kids are Told they Have Type 1 - Survey Request

My name is Michele Palk and I was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes at the age of 3. I am a Master of Psychology student in Toronto, Ontario researching how children are first told they have Type 1 Diabetes. I want to learn how people like doctors, nurses, social workers, etc. helped children, or could have done a better job. I believe this information could help other children in the future who will be diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. Tudiabetes.org gave me permission to post this message.

If you have Type 1 Diabetes, are age 10 or older, and remember the moment you were diagnosed, please consider filling out my survey. It will take about 20 minutes. Click on the link below to check it out. Your time, and help, is greatly appreciated!

http://fluidsurveys.com/s/type1diabetesdiagnosistochildrenconsent/

I went to a doctor with a really bad "flu" and was sent home. He called after testing the urine sample I left (this was before the days of routine BG testing) so my parents told me what it was and that I had to go to the hospital. I was so sick it meant nothing to me. Not to mention that no one in my family or friends had it so I really had no expectations anyway (I think at some point I asked "what's diabetes?"). I was just glad to get to a hospital where they started giving me insulin where I eventually started feeling better.

Thanks for your input! Can I ask you please fill out the survey at http://fluidsurveys.com/s/type1diabetesdiagnosistochildrenconsent/

This survey has been approved by TuDiabetes Administration.

Hello everyone! Just a quick reminder about the survey I am doing regarding people's experiences being diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes in childhood. If you have Type 1 Diabetes, remember your diagnosis, and are 10 years of age or older please consider filling out my survey at http://fluidsurveys.com/s/type1diabetesdiagnosistochildrenconsent/
Thanks a lot,
Michele

filled it out :)