How many basal rates doyou have per day?

I used to have 7 different basal rates per day, which seemed to work okay. Recently I went to a new endo, who feels that most people should be on the same basal rate all day. He said some people may need two different settings, but no more than that. I switched to one setting, but seemed to have problems with lows at two different times of day. Now I have changed it myself to 4 different settings, but I feel kind of strange doing that on my own, although it seems to be working much better than just one setting all day. Just curious how many basal settings per day other users have?

here’s a discussion we had on this subject - I have at least 5. I need so much more insulin in the AM than the PM, and very little during the night.

Likewise, I need more in the AM by far. Thanks for directing me to that discussion. I am new to Tudiabetes, and didn’t know to even search past topics. Thanks!

Since I fall really low really fast! I have only one for day and night.

Right now I just have one basal rate. But I just got started yesterday on One Touch Ping[as you can tell I am really excited about this]. But my doctor says that I will just have one unless we see changes in sugars at different parts of the day… Considering I got low twice yesterday… maybe it will take time for my body to adjust.
=)

I had 8 at one point… but right now I am starting over and currently have two (I did start with one), and am contemplating adding a third :slight_smile:

i started with three rates when i got my pump 12 years ago and i’ve never changed. they are: 7 am to midnight; midnight to 2 am; 2am to 7 am. (TDD basal - 22.8)
also … i’ve never used temp basal. if things are unsettled i adjust what i eat. seems to work. i live a pretty regimented life, food wise so it’s pretty easy.

Just curious, DC, are you male or female? I have frequently needed to change my basal rates, and think some is hormone mediated.