I must confess

My name is Alexa. I'm 24 years old and new to the group. I am a psych major and am currently pursuing my MA in Marriage & Family Therapy. I aim to get my PsyD and become a diabetes educator/psychologist for families with children who have chronic illnesses.....I joined this group because I am having a dia-crisis! After 16-sih years of having Type 1 Diabetes, I have found myself in a bad place. I have been using Minimed pumps for about 12 years and am currently on the 530G & Enlite CGMS (which is touch and go but overall I like it). I recently lost my dad to cancer and it has kickstarted the drive for change. I quit smoking (53 days now!) and don't use recreational drugs. I rarely drink and when I do it's minimal. My issue is with food and I'm concerned that I am developing an eating disorder revolving around over-eating and binge eating. This is wreaking havoc on my weight and blood sugars. Has anyone overcome difficulties like this and how did you lose the weight without burning out quickly? Counting calories, carbs, dosing, corrections, pounds and adjusting for lows is tiresome. Any advice would be much appreciated, even as far as just having the support to know I'm not alone in my quest to get back on track.

-Type 1 for 16 years
-Hypothyroid for 10 years, recently increased dose of Synthroid significantly