I'm new to an insulin pump! What do I need to know?

I was diagnosed with T1D almost a year ago and am now using a pump. I went with a t:slim. So far I am LOVING it and it’s only been three days! I don’t know much about insulin pumps besides what I was trained on. Does anyone have any tips and tricks to their t:slim pump? Is there anything you wish you would have known when you first started using a pump?

I’m not sure how much you know overall about insulin dosing in general, so please excuse me if I’m telling you something you may already know.

The first thing you must realize is that the pump is just a fancy syringe. The real brains behind making it work well is you. While learning about your T:Slim will help, the more important knowledge is about things like the onset, peak, and duration time for the insulin you use. Read the insulin package insert. You need to understand roughly how your insulin on board quantity is calculated and how it affects your dosing. I would read a least a few books on using insulin and pumps. John Walsh writes Pumping Insulin and Gary Scheiner authored Think Like A Pancreas. Read your T:Slim user guide at least twice - cover to cover.

Be ever-aware that since you are only delivering fast acting insulin, you are vulnerable to quickly slipping into real trouble if a site becomes fouled or otherwise not absorbing well. Using a pump means you need to more vigilant with monitoring your blood glucose levels than you were on MDI. You should be consistently fingersticking many times per day or better yet, using a CGM.