Im no doctor my friend, but im pretty sure you have diabetes

I thought this would be an interesting topic to post, because when I think about it, there must have been many of people that have expierenced this. When I was going through my little sick stage before I was diagnosed, I dont remeber the name of the stage, I just wanted to know what was wrong, because I did not feel right, at all. Well, it was about a week into it and my moms friend and her daughter came over to visit, they had noticed I had lost so much weight, and was very pale, and drinking alot of water. My moms friend said “How are you feeling?” I said “Like sh**” so she asked me what my symptoms were and I told her and she said “Well mikey, I am no doctor, but I have been around alot of diabetics in life, and I think you might have diabetes” So, that night, I researched online the symptoms, and almost all of them, I had, except for blurry vision, and dry skin. I knew to myself that I had it, but I was then again thinking that I was being over dramatic, and it was probably just the flu or some other cold like illness. So, I have a question to the “Tu Crowd”, Have any of you been diagnosed by a person who wasn’t a doctor, like a grandparent that tested your glucose? Or just a diabetic friend? I wasnt exacly tested by her, but she told me she thought I did, so whats your story or having an out of hospital diagnosis.

Thanks,

Michael

Michael,

The same thing happened to me. The week before I saw my doctor and received the diabetes diagnosis, I was over at a friend’s house for dinner. When I listed my symptoms she said it sounded like diabetes to her and she encouraged me to see a doctor. She was right.

I couldn’t, however, go home and research on the internet; in January 1984 I didn’t own a computer and had never even heard of the internet! Times have changed for the better, both for easy information access and diabetes treatment tools.

Terry