"In range"

Anthony had his 3 month check up with his Endo on Monday. Even though Anthony started his pump on 11/14/13, the first 40 days I am not counting due to uncontrolled BG due to having the wrong infusion sets. So when we went to his appt we had only had good sets for 10 days. Everyone knows that 10 days is not enough to perfect pump doses. So we've had some lows. I am aware of them. I fix them. I have been checking his BG several times a night for 2 months. Well, to make this shorter, the doctor wasn't happy with the 60's. The pump nurse and I have been adjusting basal rates to correct this. The doctor told me that I need to gets his numbers in the 150's now and if I didn't like it I need to change my mentality about him being 150. What do you think about 150? Am I wrong to believe that in range is 70-120? Am I crazy for wanting to stop the lows but not have him always at 150? What's wrong with 100 or 110 or 120? I told the doctor 150 was NOT going to happen and I think she was a little offended. I'm not trying to keep him at 65. I know 65 is not good but 150?

It sounds as if two things are trying be adjusted at once. That almost never works. 150 is a bit high but many people safely live in that range a good deal of their lives. For me the lows are more dangerous so it makes sense to work on that first then work on the highs. Besides she is not saying average 150, max at 150 I believe. Bringing highs down is easy compRes to getting the floor number. Also this will never be a perfect 80 to 120 it will always flux you just don’t want him living high or low as both are tough.

I really feel for you. I hope you can get some resolution quickly I know adjusting a pump for a child is so tough.

Jennifer, i am happy you have found the solution for your major problem. now comes the fine tuning. dont be too hard on yourself or anthony…
150 is not that bad, and the numbers look way better than in your last post.
good luck and take care
SC