Infusion disconnect while showering

Do I need to attach the infusion set disconnect cover while showering? Does anyone use this cover on the Inset?

I've been using the Animas Ping pump for about 8 years now and have never used, nor have I ever heard of, the disconnect cover. I would conclude that it is not necessary. I've never had any problems from my infusion set getting wet in the shower.

Not sure which pump you use but, for me, yes. I just figure it's smart to use the cover to prevent an risk of contamination/infection. I use the Minimed Paradigm pump with the Silhouette infusion set. With each set there are little plastic parts that the connector.

I just started the t:slim pump with the Inset infusion set.

Not necessary. If you were to disconnect while at the beach, perhaps. It would cut down on the possibility of getting sand into the site.

I used to use them. Not any more. I’ve tried a few infusion sets; and none of the others that I tried had these little plugs.

You don't have to use the disconnect cover. However, out of an abundance of caution I use the clip 99% of the time.

I also use the Silhouette infusion sets and usually find myself with a surplus of disconnect clips. I keep one in the medicine cabinet and another in a snack size zipper bag in my shirt pocket for convenience.

John Conrod
Medtronic MiniMed Ambassador

www.medtronicdiabetes.com

NOTE: As a MiniMed Ambassador, I receive promotional items and educational material to use and share as I see fit. No monetary compensation has taken place and any opinions expressed by me are honest and reflect my actual experience.

Hi Anthony, I always use the little plastic plug to keep water,liquid body soap,shampoo from possibly getting in there. Trying to be proactive. How do you like your t-slim? I've had a mini-med paradigm now for 4 years & like it pretty well.