Infusion site failures

I have been using a pump for many years and currently using the Tandem steel infusion sets. There had been some rare site failures but during the past few months that is occurring every 1-2 days. Everything will be working properly for several hours but then my Glucose level goes very high quickly. I have tried changing the site, no blood appearing, and sometimes that works and sometimes I have to change it again. I heard it could be a scar tissue issue but why does the sire work for a few hours to a day or so? This is getting very frustrating and often frightening. I will take a insulin shot to get my level down but that can take up to an hour to work. I have asked my Endo but she just suggests ring different sites on my body and that does not seem to help.

1 Like

I had problems because the TSlim cartridge/bladder type system didn’t work for me at all. I actually got a refund. If you’re a long time user, could it be insulin? Humalog also stopped working for me. Or maybe it is old scar tissue. I have absorption issues and my CDE now gives me every two day changes instead of three. The scar tissue just causes things to be erratic.

I’ve been using Medtronic Minimed pumps with 6-mm steel-needle infusion sets since 2007. Their infusion sets look very much like the TruSteel sets sold by Tandem. I install mine alternately on the left and right sides of my abdomen. I can feel the hard scar tissue built up under my skin in those areas and do my best to find a softer area when placing a new infusion set.