Inspiring camaraderie: the Safesittings effect

WRITTEN BY: Stacey Cunnington

Taking a chance

I was scrolling through Twitter one day (which I do a lot at work as social media is a big part of what I do at College Diabetes Network) and came upon the announcement that Beyond Type 1 would be taking over SafeSittings. I immediately thought of what a cool opportunity it would be for CDN students and young adults to be able to babysit as a part time job while at school for a little extra cash, or even while they’re home for the summer.

But then I realized: I’m a young adult who has Type 1 diabetes, works in the diabetes sector, and have spent some of the best weeks of my life at diabetes camp (and non-diabetes camp) chasing around little kids with T1D. I have lots of babysitting experience, am always looking for ways to get more involved in the T1D community… And that this could be a really awesome opportunity for me, too.

On a whim, I filled out an application on the SafeSittings website, which took five minutes and couldn’t have been easier. It asked for things like a bio and if you have first aid experience, access to a car, etc. There is even a place in the application for you to indicate if you’re involved in a CDN Chapter!

What to expect

Within 48 hours, I had a mom reach out to me – I was shocked at the turnaround time. We ended up setting up a meeting to chat more about her daughter, who is eight years old and was only diagnosed three months ago, and her other daughter who is ten, to see if this could work.