Insulin injections

I am new to insulin injections using Lantus Solostar and Novolog Pen. My doses are low (about 3 units Lantus, 1 to 3 units Novolog). I have bruises and bleed often. I rotate my spots (abdomen, love handles, outer thighs, back of thighs, bat wings of arms); still I bleed and bruise more often than not. What am I doing wrong? Does the "cold" insulin from the refrigerator or FRIO case cause the bleeding and bruising?

Truly would be appreciative of helpful suggestions and experiences.

I started Lantus SoloStar in May of this year, so still pretty new to it. I use it once before bed, 18 units. I was told to inject it around my belly button since that is very close to the pancreas and you want to get it as close as you can. Dont use it straight out of the fridge, it can sit out at room temp for 28 days. Let a new pen warm up before using it.

I dont have bruises nor do I bleed so I really dont know why you do.

Were you told to inject in all those other places?

Actually it doesn't matter how close to your pancreas you inject, the Lantus is injected into the bodyfat layer and then released into your body via the small blood vessels in the bodyfat layer. In fact, you want to specifically avoid your belly button because most people have inadequate fat in that immediate area and you are more likely to hit the wrong kind of tissue.

Bleeding and bruising are often a sign of misinjection. If you pinch up better and quickly get the needle in (one recommendation is to think of insertion as throwing a dart). Some people also find that different needle sizes help. There is a "nano" needle that is 4mm and most people find they do not need to pinch with that needle.