Intense Anerobic Exercise (weight-training) and Basal Rate/Bolus Modifications

Hello everyone, I just started a pump earlier this week, and I have to say it is the greatest thing to happen to me yet. I know I’m just beginning but I can already see the brilliant aspect of this little device.

The research, as I’m sure some of you are aware, in regards to anaerobic exercise is rather scant. I’ve read all the exCarbs literature and seeing as I do very little aerobic exercise, that information is rather useless. Everything I’ve found is “inconclusive” as per the effect of anaerobic exercise on insulin efficacy, basal rates, glucose release etc. etc.

I had my first workout on the pump last night, and was happier with the result than expected. I weight train at intense weights. 80-85% of my max weight, low rep, high intensity. This is about the most intense anaerobic exercise you can put your body through. I always find a more severe effect on my blood sugars and absorption profile than what I read from people doing other less intense anaerobic activity. Are there any like-minded weight lifters here? I am still unsure as to my post-workout levels and what I should be doing with my basal rate.

I bumped my basal rate, two hours prior to my workout, for a total of four hours, at an elevated rate of 20%. I also bolused 6 units of Humalog right before my workout to account for the quick increase in blood sugars I always experience during a workout. I tested right before my workout at 7.8 mmol/L (~140) and ended up at 10.4 mmol/L (~188). I am thinking of trying 30% basal increase for the four hours, and keep the bolus the same.

What do some of you do?