Is less more when it comes to calibration?

I have read several posts in various forums that suggest that less calibrations is better but logic in my mind would suggest that if you calibrate whenever you are in range of your Norms the better.

If you are suddenly High or Low , the delay to the trend would be telling the sensor a false value as it takes the last 4 calibrations as part of its math.

The Question :
Should you calibrate whenever you take BG reading and it is near your Norm Range ?

Would appreciate experiences and logic from experienced users in that I am new to the CGM.

It’s hard to say, but it probably depends on the algorithm and the quality of the calibrations. I’m mostly flat at wake-up, late afternoon/before dinner, and at bed time so I calibrate at those 3 times unless I’m off. Before lunch or after exercise are good back-ups, but I don’t typically use them for fear of introducing unnecessary error because I’m usually moving a little bit more at those times. If you tend to be really stable at other times, then I don’t see the harm but it would depend on how the algorithm handles them and it’s hard to know how they’re weighted and if they get ignored.

As part of a recent study I was also told by the study doc not to calibrate the navigator unless it asked for one because doing so would be a forced calibration and erase previous calibrations. (I’m not sure if it applies to all navigators or just the study device.) I’m not aware of a similar quirk to MM or dex, but I have suspected in the past that my MM has ignored calibrations.

For the MM unit you will be far better off if you only calibrate when your BG is stable and in the normal range. And, as long as your BG is tracking well with your CGM there is no value in calibrating more often that is needed; every 12 hours.