Its just a drag

Have you ever had one of those days or had a moment where you just dreaded doing anything related to diabetes? Between school and diabetes i don’t know which one is more stressful, and I’m at a stage where I’m still a little embarrassed about having to take shots at school and all. any advice?

I’m a high school teacher and was a type 1 in high school, so I certainly see it from both sides now, but you need to find your own way to be comfortable with your diabetes care at school. The worst part for me in high school was when anyone tried to tell me how I HAD to do it.

My junior year, a student complained that my blood sugar testing in my spanish class before lunch grossed them out and the school nurse asked me to be polite and come to the nurse’s office to do it. I did it for a few days, and then politely refused instead. I was really insulted that someone would bother to complain about MY finger being lanced. And in elementary school, I had always given my own injections, so I refused to keep my insulin and syringes in the nurse’s office, carrying it instead on me in a purse. But I remember having to go in the music teacher’s closet to test everyday in 5th grade. It’s a weird secret life we lead shooting up in closets and bathrooms. :slight_smile: