Lab draw bg test question

I’ve been T1 for 35 years so you might think I wouldn’t have any questions anymore. You’d be wrong!

I go to the lab for “fasting blood draw” every 3 months. I’m T1 so I need at least basal insulin in me at the time.

When they take my blood out it has a certain concentration of glucose or bg reading. That sample also has some not-yet-used insulin floating around in it too.

The insulin already in my bloodstream - and in the drawn sample - does that cause the bg in the blood sample already drawn to continue to drop for a number of hours even after they’ve taken it out?

I wouldn’t think so (but I’m not a scientist). Insulin doesn’t eat up available glucose. My elementary understanding is that it attaches to cells and signals them to absorb the sugar from the bloodstream. One analogy often used is that insulin is the key that opens the cell door to let the sugar in. So in a vacutainer, in the absence of any human tissue cells, the insulin is going to be ineffective and have no influence on the blood glucose level.

3 Likes

Just based on experience of testing my bs on my meter at the same time as the blood draw, I would say no. They are normally relatively close to each other.

1 Like

The same would be true for non diabetics. They have insulin in their blood from their pancreas. I think beacher is correct, and there would no change the the BG number.

We ignore the “request” for fasting.

Surprisingly enough, the BG usually comes back quite elevated (from breakfast). You might almost suspect a case of T1 !!!

Seriously - we are not interested in the BG value. Not even a little. But there is a ton of other information we really do want to see. The only time we will actually (almost) fast is if lipids are being tested and then it is only skipping anything with fats.