Medicare not covering the OmniPod Insulin Pump

Hello, I am new to this forum thing. I have never done this before but I am completely worn out fighting Medicare on the OmniPod Insulin Pump coverage issue. But I have found a possible way and a possible move to get a foot in the door and for the program to look at the OmniPod differently. Follow my logic, hopefully it makes some sense, and see if the outcome is as clear to you as it is to me. There are several hurdles to overcome. I will try to outline and debunk the the issues that I am aware of one by one.

1. PDM- technically the PDM is covered by Medicare in many cases because it has a built in blood glucose meter that is covered by Medicare. So when the doctor issues the prescription for the PDM, it is listed as a glucose meter and thus follows Medicare rules.

2. POD- the pod is considered disposable and therefore not durable medical equipment. However, the delivery system from any pump system is “disposable.” The reservoir is a one time use product, therefore disposable. The infusion set is again, one time use and therefore disposable. If the logic is followed, the delivery system for the OmniPod system follows the same lines as the reservoir and the infusion set. Medicare seems to have no difficulty paying for the disposable parts of the current allowed pumps. The difficulty seems to be with the definition of “disposable” and this argument appears to cover it.