Minimed bolus wizard

Has MM figured out that a decimal point would be useful on entering the CARB ratio into the Wizard. I have been using my pump for several years and have a ratio of 6. Maybe 5.5 would be more accurately.
Have they put this capability into new pumps. Do other pumps allow more precision in this very important ratio number. Using whole numbers puts about a 20 % lack of precision in the bolus dose.

you can combine the carb ratio with the insulin sensitivity factor to micro adjust the dosage if it is really worth it. The formula for the wizard calcs are in the documentation. I agree with Dave tho, it does seem like overkill

Ah hell… I can’t reply to this without it turning into a rant… I’ve deleted my post 2 times already :slight_smile: In summary of my rant… I’m not average and I get pissed off when I’m told it’s my problem that I’m not :slight_smile:

Can you share details on how to use ISF to micro adjust. My I:C ratio is 1:6 approx. more like 1:5.5.

There are two techniques I can think of. One, set the lower and upper BG targets to the same number. Two, set the limit and I:C ratio lower/higher than actual to compensate. But I’ve never worked through the numbers to figure out how this might work.

• Jeff

Sorry Jeff, definitely didn’t mean to blame you for anything… my thoughts were that the results may not be worth the effort… as far as the calcs go, the formula is published in the documentation, just plug your numbers in and adjust the ISF until you get a number that matches the ratio of 5.5 as opposed to the ratio of 6

I use a 522 , MM’s last model …would it work for you to look at different carb ratio’s …for your 3 meals and during the night ( if you happen to snack at 1 am ) …I have mine at different ratio’s . One can manually override any insulin dosage .
And please , someone explain , what ISF stands for …thanks

ISF = Insulin Sensitivity Factor. An ISF number tells you have far every unit of insulin will drop your blood glucose.