My Story

I am from New Jersey, and moved to Springfield, Missouri in 2005 to start a doctorate program in clinical psychology. I’m in my third year now, and almost done with the academic part of the program!!!

The program got extremely hard during the summer of my second year. I lost about 20 lbs without moving a muscle, was constantly thirsty, and went to the bathroom every ten minutes. I was also extremely tired. I typically get up before 8:00, but during this time I wanted to sleep until 2:00pm. My thoughts were disorganized and I wanted everyone to leave me alone. Not the best attitude for a therapist to have…

My father has Type I diabetes so it didn’t take long for me to get my butt out of bed and go buy a meter. My first reading was 180. I did some research and found I was in the diabetic range. I was relieved to find this so I could point the finger at something for making me so miserable.

It took about 6 months for me to get an appointment with an endocrinologist due to my current residence in the middle of nowhere. Grad school keeps you busy, but I squeezed the appointment in on a Wednesday. I had seen clients from 8-2, had supervision from 2-4, rushed to the doctor at 4, then had class from 5-8. While at the doctors, the doc went ahead and shot me up for the first time on my way out. I told him I was going to eat so he thought it was safe. My idea of eating is stuffing a sandwich down my throat in the car on the way to my next obligation. I had the sandwich there that day, but wasn’t hungry. I realized how I just walked in to an office, got diagnosed with a chronic disease, was given insulin, and ultimately was told to change my entire life. As a therapist I told myself to let the emotions out and try to deal with how I was feeling. Then I snap out of it and realize the lights green and I need to drive. The therapist voice was then gone, I turned on the music, ate half of that sandwich, and ran into class.